TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Ashford, Liff, Olivo, Scott, Tune to Receive Astaire Awards logo
Tommy Tune
(© Joseph Marzullo/WENN)
The winners of the 2007-2008 Fred & Adele Astaire Awards, to be presented June 2 at the Grand Ballroom of Manhattan Center Studio, have been announced. The evening's gala benefits the Auditory Oral School of New York

Cry-Baby choreographer Rob Ashford and dancer Spencer Liff, and Karen Olivo, co-star of In the Heights, will be honored for their Broadway work. Dave Scott will be honored for his choreography on the film Step Up 2: The Streets.

As previously announced, Brooke Shields will present Tommy Tune with the first Douglas Watt Lifetime Achievement Award. A nine-time Tony Award winner, Tune's many Broadway credits include The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas, My One and Only, The Will Rogers Follies, and Nine.

The 2008 nominating committee is comprised of Clive Barnes, Anna Kisselgoff, Wendy Perron, Sylviane Gold, Douglas Watt, and Damien Woetzel.

For tickets to the gala, contact Jennifer Dumas at 212-655-9377 or e-mail [email protected]

Tagged in this Story