TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

Amina Faye and Josh Strobl Win the 2016 National High School Musical Theatre Awards

Zachary Levi hosted the event, known as the Jimmy Awards.

Winners Amina Faye and Josh Strobl accept their awards.
(© Henry McGee)

The winners of the eighth annual National High School Musical Theatre Awards, also referred to as the Jimmys, were announced last night at Broadway's Minskoff Theatre. This event was hosted by Tony Award-nominee Zachary Levi (She Loves Me). The production was directed by Van Kaplan and choreographed by Kiesha Lalama, with musical-direction and arrangements by Michael Moricz. David Dabbin was production group music director.

The Jimmy Awards for Best Performance by an Actor and Best Performance by an Actress were presented to Josh Strobl, representing the Jerry Herman Awards, and Amina Faye, representing the Blumey Awards.

In addition, the six finalists each received a $2,500 scholarship toward their future education from the Barry and Fran Weissler Foundation were Kailey Boyle, Tommy Awards; Cameron Chang, the San Diego Ben Vereen Awards; John Fredrickson, DSM High School Musical Theatre Awards; Lauren Johnson, Nebraska High School Theatre Awards; Devin Moore, Gene Kelly Awards; and Marnie Quick, Gene Kelly Awards.

Winners were selected by a panel of judges comprising notable theater professionals, including Tony Award-winning producers, award-winning casting experts and industry professionals: Kent Gash, Rachel Hoffman, Alecia Parker, Tara Rubin, Nick Scandalios, and Kate Shindle.

In addition to host Zachary Levi, presenters included Drew Gehling (Waitress), Tony winner Lena Hall (Hedwig and the Angry Inch), Zainab Jah (Eclipsed), Marc Kudisch (Hand to God), and Bianca Marroquin (Chicago).

For a Q&A with Jimmy Award winner Amina Faye, click here.

Amina Faye and Josh Strobl pose with host Zachary Levi.
(© Henry McGee)