TheaterMania Logo
Home link

2007 Drama League Award Winners Announced

Liev Schreiber in Talk Radio
(© Joan Marcus)
The winners for the 73rd Annual Drama League Awards were announced today at the group's annual luncheon the Marriott Marquis Hotel. The event was hosted by Tony Award winner Gary Beach.

Liev Schreiber won the Distinguished Performance Award for his work in Talk Radio; he also appeared this season in the title role of the Shakespeare in the Park production of Macbeth.

The Coast of Utopia won Distinguished Production of a Play, Spring Awakening won Distinguished Production of a Musical, Journey's End won Distinguished Revival of a Play, and Company won Distinguished Revival of a Musical.

Composer John Kander and his late songwriting partner, Fred Ebb, received the League's Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award. Michael Mayer, currently represented on Broadway by Spring Awakening, was honored with the Julia Hansen Award for Excellence in Directing. Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS received the Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award.

A complete list of nominees, with the winners' name in bold, is below. As previously reported, the producers of Deuce asked that their show and its performers not to be eligible this season, while actors Frank Langella, Zoe Caldwell, Kathleen Chalfant, and Christopher Plummer were not eligible for the Distinguished Performance Award since they had previously won this once-in-a lifetime honor.


In the Heights
Kiki & Herb: Alive on Broadway
Legally Blonde
Martin Short: Fame Becomes Me
Mary Poppins
Spring Awakening

Coram Boy
No Child
Radio Golf
The Coast of Utopia
The Scene
The Year of Magical Thinking

110 in the Shade
A Chorus Line
Les Misérables
The Fantasticks

Inherit the Wind
Journey's End
Mother Courage and Her Children
Seven Guitars
Talk Radio
The Hairy Ape
The Merchant of Venice

F. Murray Abraham -- The Jew of Malta/The Merchant of Venice
Heidi Armbruster -- Tea and Sympathy
Christine Baranski -- Regrets Only
Gary Beach -- Les Misérables
Daniel Beaty -- Emergence-See!
Eve Best -- A Moon for the Misbegotten
Stephanie J. Block -- The Pirate Queen
Justin Bond -- Kiki & Herb: Alive on Broadway
Christian Borle -- Legally Blonde
Ashley Brown -- Mary Poppins
Laura Bell Bundy -- Legally Blonde
Kate Burton -- The Water's Edge
Michael Cerveris -- King Lear, LoveMusik
Kristin Chenoweth -- The Apple Tree
Anthony Chisholm -- Radio Golf
Jill Clayburgh -- The Clean House, The Busy World Is Hushed
Jennifer Cody -- Henry and Mudge
Billy Crudup -- The Coast of Utopia
Michael Cumpsty -- Richard II
Charlotte D'Amboise -- A Chorus Line
Hugh Dancy -- Journey's End
Jeff Daniels -- Blackbird
Brian Dennehy -- Inherit the Wind
Gregory Derelian -- The Hairy Ape
Ensemble of Columbinus
Ensemble of Coram Boy
Raúl Esparza -- Company
Gerald Finnigan -- The Hairy Ape
John Fugelsang -- All the Wrong Reasons
Boyd Gaines -- Journey's End
John Gallagher Jr. -- Spring Awakening
Alexander Gemignani -- Les Misérables
Piper Goodeve -- Anne of Green Gables
David Greenspan -- Some Men
George Grizzard -- Regrets Only
Jonathan Groff -- Spring Awakening
Ed Harris -- Wrecks
Ethan Hawke -- The Coast of Utopia
Phillip Seymour Hoffman -- Jack Goes Boating
Jayne Houdyshell -- The Pain and the Itch
Stephen Kunken -- A Very Common Procedure, Frost/Nixon
Nathan Lane -- Butley
Gavin Lee -- Mary Poppins
Harry Lennix -- Radio Golf
Norm Lewis -- Les Misérables
Hamish Linklater -- The Busy World Is Hushed
John Mahoney -- Prelude to a Kiss
Logan Marshall-Green -- King Lear, Pig Farm
Dylan McDermott -- The Treatment
Audra McDonald -- 110 in the Shade
Lin-Manuel Miranda -- In the Heights
Alfred Molina -- Howard Katz
Debra Monk -- Curtains
Kate Mulgrew -- Our Leading Lady
Donna Murphy -- LoveMusik
Kristine Nielsen -- Our Leading Lady
Bill Nighy -- The Vertical Hour
Brian F. O'Byrne -- Shining City, The Coast of Utopia
Denis O'Hare -- Inherit the Wind, A Spanish Play
Sandra Oh -- Satellites
Thaddeus Phillips -- El Conquistador!
David Hyde Pierce -- Curtains
Allison Pill -- Blackbird
Oliver Platt -- Shining City
Michelle Ragusa -- Adrift in Macao
Vanessa Redgrave -- The Year of Magical Thinking
Liev Schreiber -- Macbeth, Talk Radio
Pablo Schreiber -- Dying City
Andrew Scott -- The Vertical Hour
Michael Sheen -- Frost/Nixon
Martin Short -- Martin Short: Fame Becomes Me
Meryl Streep -- Mother Courage and Her Children
Michael Stuhlbarg -- The Voysey Inheritance
Nilaja Sun -- No Child
Alan Tudyk -- Prelude to a Kiss
Barbara Walsh -- Company