TheaterMania Logo
Photo Flash

PHOTO FLASH: Edward Albee Receives Edward MacDowell Medal logo
Edward Albee received 2011 Edward MacDowell Medal during the MacDowell Colony's 52nd annual Medal Day celebration on Sunday, August 14. Film and theater director Mike Nichols, a longtime friend and collaborator of Albee, and Michael Chabon, chairman of the Colony's board of directors, spoke during the ceremony.

Albee, who has won numerous Pulitzer Prizes and Tony Awards, has written such plays as The Zoo Story, Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?, A Delicate Balance, Seascape, Tiny Alice, The Play About the Baby, and Me, Myself, and I. The MacDowell Medal is given to an individual artist who has made an outstanding contribution to his/her field.

Among the attendees were the New Hampshire-based MacDowell Colony's President Susan Davenport Austin, Resident Director David Macy, and Executive Director Cheryl Young.

For further information, click here.

Standing: David Macy, Michael Chabon, and Mike Nichols
Sitting: Susan Davenport Austin, Edward Albee, and Cheryl Young
(© Joanna Eldredge MorrisseyO

Tagged in this Story