TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Annette Bening, Jesse Eisenberg, Colin Firth, Natalie Portman, Mark Ruffalo, Aaron Sorkin, et al. Win Film Critics' Awards logo
Justin Timberlake and Jesse Eisenberg
in The Social Network
(© Columbia TriStar Pictures)
The winners of the 2010 Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) Awards, the 2010 Boston Society of Film Critics (BSFC), the 2010 New York Film Critics Circle (NYFCC), the New York Online Critics (NYOC) and the San Francisco Film Critics Circle (SFFCC) have been announced.

The Social Network has been named Best Picture by all five organizations. Also honored by all of the groups is director David Fincher. Other awards for the film include Best Screenplay honors for Aaron Sorkin from LAFCA, BSFC, NYOC and SFFCC, and a Best Actor award for Jesse Eisenberg for his work in the movie from the Boston Critics.

In addition, Annette Bening has won the Best Actress award for her work in The Kids Are All Right and Mark Ruffalo has won Best Supporting Actor for the movie from NYFCC. The film also picked up NYFCC's Best Screenplay honor and the NYOC gave the movie its Best Ensemble Award.

Other theater veterans have been honored by the groups: The LAFCA, NYFCC, and SFFCC have named Colin Firth as Best Actor for his performance in The King's Speech; Natalie Portman picked up the award for Best Actress from BSFC and NYOC for Black Swan; Michelle Williams was named Best Actress for Blue Valentine from SFCC; and Melissa Leo was named Best Supporting Actress for The Fighter from NYOC and NYFCC.


Tagged in this Story