TheaterMania Logo
Photo Flash

Waitress Celebrates New Cookbook With Pie Tasting

Stars Betsy Wolfe, Drew Gehling, Joe Tippett were on hand and happy to taste the sample treats. logo
Drew Gehling, Betsy Wolfe, and Joe Tippett sample pies at the Brooks Atkinson Theatre.
(photo provided by Boneau/Bryan-Brown)

Broadway's Waitress celebrated the release of the new Waitress-inspired cookbook Sugar, Butter, Flour: The Waitress Pie Book — Recipes from the Files of Jenna Hunterson with a pie tasting in the lobby of the Brooks Atkinson Theatre. The book is written by Daniel Gercke, with recipes by Sheri Castle, and is published by Penguin Random House.

Sugar, Butter, Flour: The Waitress Pie Book is available in bookstores now.
(photo provided by Boneu/Bryan-Brown)

To help celebrate the occasion, the show's newest cast members Betsy Wolfe, Drew Gehling, and the returning Joe Tippett came out to taste the confectionery creations, which included pies such as I Can't Have an Affair Because It's Wrong (and I Don't Want Earl to Kill Me) Marbled Cheesecake Pie; In the Dark, Dark Triple Chocolate Truffle Pie; Old Joe's Horny Past Pie (tomato and cheese); Sweet Victory Pie (cherry); Key Lime to Happiness Pie; and Twisted Kentucky Bourbon Pecan Pie.

An assortment of pies were placed on display.
(photo provided by Boneau/Bryan-Brown)

In addition to Wolfe, Gehling, and Tippett, the current cast of Waitress includes Charity Angél Dawson, Caitlin Houlahan, Dakin Matthews, Eric Anderson, Christopher Fitzgerald, Dayna Jarae Dantzler, Kayla Davion, Matt DeAngelis, Cate Elefante, Thay Floyd, Henry Gottfried, Molly Hager, Molly Jobe, Max Kumangai, Anastacia McCleskey, Ella Dane Morgan, Jeremy Morse, and Stephanie Torns.

Waitress premiered in 2015 at American Repertory Theater in Cambridge, Massachusetts. The musical is directed by Diane Paulus, choreographed by Lorin Latarro, and designed by Scott Pask (sets), Suttirat Anne Larlarb (costumes), Christopher Akerlind (lighting), and Jonathan Deans (sound).

For tickets and more information, click here.