TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

The Last Ship, It Shoulda Been You, and More Will Perform at 2015 Drama Desk Awards

The ceremony will take place May 31 at Town Hall and be streamed live on

Lisa Howard is a 2015 Drama Desk Award nominee for her performance in the Broadway musical It Shoulda Been You.
(© Joan Marcus)

Presenters and musical performances have been announced for the 60th Annual Drama Desk Awards, taking place this Sunday, May 31, at 8pm at The Town Hall. The Drama Desk Awards are presented by

Presenting or performing at this year's awards are Annaleigh Ashford (You Can't Take It With You), Robert Askins (Hand to God), Kate Baldwin (John and Jen), Christian Borle (Something Rotten!), John Cariani (Something Rotten!), Carolee Carmello (Finding Neverland), Kathleen Chalfant (A Walk in the Woods), Michael Esper (The Last Ship), Jenny Gersten (The Visit), Joel Grey (Cabaret), A.R. Gurney (Sylvia), Lisa Howard (It Shoulda Been You), Chuk Iwuji (King Lear), Colin Kelly-Sordelet (The Last Ship), Judy Kuhn (Fun Home), Jake Lucas (The King and I), Sydney Lucas (Fun Home), Luba Mason (Pretty Filthy), Rob McClure (Honeymoon in Vegas), Jessie Mueller (Beautiful — The Carole King Musical), Andrew Rannells (Hedwig and the Angry Inch), Conor Ryan (John and Jen), Michael Starobin (If/Then), Susan Stroman (Bullets Over Broadway), Drama Desk President Charles Wright, and Maury Yeston (Titanic).

The evening will feature performances from shows with Drama Desk nominations: It Shoulda Been You, John and Jen, The Last Ship, and Pretty Filthy.

The Drama Desk was founded in 1949 to explore key issues in the theater and to bring together critics and writers in an organization to support the ongoing development of theater in New York. The organization began presenting its awards in 1955, and it is the only critics' organization to honor achievement in the theater with competition among Broadway, off-Broadway, and off-off-Broadway productions in the same categories.

Gretchen Shugart is managing executive producer of the Drama Desk Awards. Joey Parnes Productions will produce and manage the show. The president of the Drama Desk is Charles Wright.

For more information and tickets to the 60th Annual Drama Desk Awards, click here.