Theater News

Gloria and Emilio Estefan's On Your Feet! Announces Closing Date

The jukebox musical tells the life story of the legendary pair.

Ana Villafañe and Ektor Rivera as Gloria and Emilio Estefan in Broadway's ''On Your Feet!'
Ana Villafañe and Ektor Rivera as Gloria and Emilio Estefan in Broadway's On Your Feet!
(© David Gordon)

On Your Feet!, the Broadway musical about the lives of music icon Gloria Estefan and Emilio Estefan, will end its run at the Marquis Theatre on August 20 after 34 previews and 746 regular performances. The show began its run October 5, 2015, and opened on November 5.

Directed by two-time Tony winner Jerry Mitchell (Kinky Boots) and choreographed by Olivier Award winner Sergio Trujillo (Jersey Boys), the musical features a book by Academy Award winner Alexander Dinelaris (Birdman) as well as Estefan's chart-topping hits like "Rhythm Is Gonna Get You," "1-2-3," and "Conga," and new music penned by the Estefans.

As previously announced, a national tour for the Broadway musical will launch this fall. The tour will launch on September 22 in Buffalo, New York, and celebrate its Grand Opening on October 5 in the Estefans’ home city of Miami. In addition, this fall also marks the international premiere of On Your Feet!, with a production opening at Beatrix Theatre in Utrecht, Netherlands, on October 18.

The Broadway production of On Your Feet! stars Theater World Award-winning Ana Villafañe as Gloria Estefan opposite Ektor Rivera as Emilio. The cast also stars Doreen Montalvo as Gloria Fajardo; Alma Cuervo as Consuelo; Madison Elizabeth Lagares and Amaris Sanchez as Little Gloria; and Eduardo Hernandez and Kevin Tellez as Nayib/Young Emilio. Rounding out the ensemble are Karmine Alers, Yassmin Alers, David Baida, Angelica Beliard, Natalie Caruncho, Alexia Sky Colón, Henry Gainza, Linedy Genao, Christopher Hernandez, Nina Lafarga, Emmanuel Lopez Alonzo, Omar Lopez-Cepero, Hector Maisonet, Genny Lis Padilla, Christie Prades, Liz Ramos, Jeremey Adam Rey, Eliseo Roman, Jose Rosario Jr., Julius Anthony Rubio, Jennifer Sanchez, Martín Solá, Brett Sturgis, and Lee Zarrett.

For tickets and more information, click here.

Featured In This Story