TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

Mallory Bechtel to Make Broadway Debut as Dear Evan Hansen's New Zoe Murphy

Bechtel will replace original cast member Laura Dreyfuss.

Mallory Bechtel will make her Broadway debut as Zoe Murphy in Dear Evan Hansen.
(photo provided by Grapevine PR)

Mallory Bechtel has been announced to make her Broadway debut, taking over the role of Zoe Murphy in Dear Evan Hansen beginning July 31. Bechtel replaces original cast member Laura Dreyfuss, who will play her final performance July 15 at an added Actors Fund Performance. Olivia Puckett will play the role of Zoe Murphy July 17-29.

With a Tony-winning score by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul, and a Tony-winning book by Steven Levenson, Dear Evan Hansen is described as follows: "A letter that was never meant to be seen, a lie that was never meant to be told, a life he never dreamed he could have. Evan Hansen is about to get the one thing he's always wanted: a chance to finally fit in."

In addition to Dreyfuss, the cast currently stars Taylor Trensch (Evan Hansen), Phoenix Best (Alana Beck), Alex Boniello (Connor Murphy), Michael Park (Larry Murphy), Jennifer Laura Thompson (Cynthia Murphy), Sky Lakota-Lynch (Jared Kleinman), and Rachel Bay Jones (Heidi Hansen).

Dear Evan Hansen opened on December 4, 2016, at the Music Box Theatre and earned six Tony Awards including Best Musical, Best Book, and Best Original Score.


Tagged in this Story