TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Jimmy Awards to Livestream Ceremony Updates on Facebook

The annual high school musical theater competition will be held on June 26 at the Minskoff Theatre.

Ben Platt, the Tony-winning star of Broadway's Dear Evan Hansen, will host the 2017 Jimmy Awards on Monday, June 26.
(© David Gordon)

The ninth annual Jimmy Awards (National High School Musical Theatre Awards), hosted by 2017 Tony Award winner Ben Platt (Dear Evan Hansen), will broadcast live updates on the Jimmy Awards Facebook page. The show will be held on Monday, June 26 at the Minskoff Theatre.

A pre-show update will begin at 7:15 p.m., with a second update scheduled for 8:30 p.m. during intermission. The awards presentation at the end of the ceremony will also be broadcast on Facebook Live. The Facebook livestream will be hosted by two student reporters, Julia Fernandez from the Rita Moreno Awards in San Jose, California, and Nate Garner from Illinois High School Musical Theatre Awards in Chicago.

The awards presentation will include the student awards and speeches from this year's Best Actress and Best Actor winners. Additionally, the inaugural Inspiring Teacher Award, presented by Wells Fargo, will be given to Brendan Jennings (Burbank, California) and Larry Robinson (Monroe, North Carolina) for the encouragement and inspiration that led their students to win the 2016 Jimmy Award for Best Performance by an Actress and Best Performance by an Actor.

The 2017 Jimmy Awards (named after late Broadway producer James M. Nederlander) will feature performances by 74 students who earned top honors at their regional high school musical theater awards competitions.

Jimmy Award nominees are currently in the midst of preparing for their Broadway debut during a nine-day professional training intensive with NYU Tisch School of the Arts' New Studio on Broadway faculty members as well as other theater professionals.

For tickets and more information, click here.