TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Music News

EXCLUSIVE FIRST LISTEN: Check Out "Jersey" From Broadway's Gettin' the Band Back Together

The recent Broadway production featured Mitchell Jarvis, Kelli Barrett, Marilu Henner, and more.

(album art for Broadway's Gettin' the Band Back Together cast recording)

As previously announced, Sh-K-Boom Records will release the original Broadway cast recording of the new musical comedy Gettin' the Band Back Together on September 28. The production, which recently ran at the Belasco Theatre, was directed by Tony Award winner John Rando and choreographed by Chris Bailey.

In advance of the official release, fans can get a taste of what the album has in store with this first listen of "Jersey," the first song of the show. Check it out here:

Gettin' the Band Back Together has original music and lyrics by Mark Allen and a book by Ken Davenport and the Grundleshotz with additional material by Sarah Saltzberg. The show is described as follows: "Mitch Papadopoulos always wanted to be the next Bruce Springsteen, but he left those daydreams behind for a day job. When this big-shot banker is handed a pink slip on his 40th birthday, he's forced to move back in with his mom in New Jersey. A run-in with his former music rival leads to a threat of foreclosure on Mitch's family home, unless he can win the Battle of the Bands — a rematch over 25 years in the making. So he dusts off his guitar, gathers his old gang, and sets out to win back his house, his pride — and maybe even the high school sweetheart he left behind — proving it's never too late to give your dreams one last shot."

The Broadway cast featured Mitchell Jarvis (Mitch Papadopoulos), Jay Klaitz (Bart Vickers), Manu Narayan (Dr. Rummesh "Robbie" Patel), Paul Whitty (Michael "Sully" Sullivan), Sawyer Nunes (Ricky "Bling" Goldstein), Marilu Henner ("Mitch's Mom," a.k.a. Sharon Papadopoulos), Kelli Barrett (Dani), Becca Kötte (Tawney), Garth Kravits (Ritchie), Tamika Lawrence (Roxanne Velasco), Noa Solorio (Billie), and Brandon Williams (Tygen Billows). Rounding out the ensemble were Lindsey Brett Carothers, Ryan Duncan, Scott Richard Foster, Jenny Hill, Nehal Joshi, J. Elaine Marcos, Rob Marnell, Jasmin Richardson, Ian Ward, and Tad Wilson.


Tagged in this Story