TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Alex Brightman Makes Surprise Return to School of Rock on Broadway

The show's original Tony-nominated star fills in for two weeks at the Winter Garden Theatre. logo
Alex Brightman will reprise his Tony-nominated performance as Dewey Finn from April 14-30 at the Winter Garden Theatre.
(© Matthew Murphy)

School of Rock's original Tony-nominated star, Alex Brightman, will return to the Broadway production as Dewey Finn beginning tonight, covering for the current Dewey, Eric Petersen, through Sunday, April 30. Petersen is on vacation and will return to the role Monday, May 1.

Brightman originated the role of Dewey Finn, which earned him a 2016 Tony Award nomination for Best Actor in a Musical. He is currently developing two new musicals, The Whipping Boy and It's Kind of a Funny Story, with his writing partner Drew Gasparini. His other Broadway credits prior to School of Rock include Matilda, Wicked, Big Fish, and Glory Days.

Directed by Laurence Connor, School of Rock opened December 6, 2015, at the Winter Garden Theatre. The show features a Tony-nominated score by Andrew Lloyd Webber and Glenn Slater and a Tony-nominated book by Downton Abbey creator Julian Fellowes.

The current cast of School of Rock features Jenn Gambatese as Rosalie, Steven Booth as Ned, and Becky Gulsvig as Patty, along with Terrance Bell Jr., Paul Luke Bonenfant, Emily Borromeo, Chloé Bryan, Amadi Chapata, Olivia Chun, Emily Cramer, Ava Della Pietra, Natalie Charle Ellis, John Arthur Greene, Gianna Harris, Merritt David Janes, Nehal Joshi, Rachel Katzke, Elle Kim, Jason Kisare, Lulu Lloyd, Raghav Mehrotra, Brandon Niederauer, Cassie Okenka, Patrick O'Neil, Sammy Ramirez, Ruth Righi, Jersey Sullivan, Walden Sullivan, Jesse Swimm, Josh Tower, Annabelle Wachtel, Joel Waggoner, Jonathan Wagner, and J. Michael Zygo.

For tickets and more information, click here.


Tagged in this Story