TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Broadway's Ain't Too Proud to Release Original Cast Album

CDs will be available at the Imperial Theatre beginning March 21.

Ephraim Sykes, Jeremy Pope, Jawan M. Jackson, James Harkness, and Derrick Baskin as the Temptations in Ain't Too Proud, beginning Broadway performances tonight.
(© Matthew Murphy)

An original Broadway cast recording of Ain't Too Proud — The Life and Times of the Temptations, beginning performances tonight at the Imperial Theatre, will be released by UMe this spring. The album, which was recorded earlier this year, is available for preorders beginning today, and will be released on March 21 on physical CDs, sold exclusively at the Imperial Theatre. The digital album will be available on March 22, and the CD will be available in wide release on April 19, with a double-LP vinyl available on June 7. The song "Ain't Too Proud to Beg" is available for streaming and immediate download with album preorder.

Directed by two‑time Tony winner Des McAnuff, Ain't Too Proud features a book by Dominique Morisseau and choreography by Tony nominee Sergio Trujillo.

The musical is described as follows: "Ain't Too Proud is the electrifying new musical that follows The Temptations' extraordinary journey from the streets of Detroit to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. With their signature dance moves and unmistakable harmonies, they rose to the top of the charts creating an amazing 42 Top Ten Hits with 14 reaching number one. The rest is history — how they met, the groundbreaking heights they hit and how personal and political conflicts threatened to tear the group apart as the United States fell into civil unrest. This thrilling story of brotherhood, family, loyalty and betrayal is set to the beat of the group's treasured hits, including 'My Girl,' 'Just My Imagination,' 'Get Ready,' 'Papa Was a Rolling Stone,' and so many more."

Leading the Broadway cast as the Temptations are Derrick Baskin as Otis Williams, James Harkness as Paul Williams, Jawan M. Jackson as Melvin Franklin, Jeremy Pope as Eddie Kendricks, and Ephraim Sykes as David Ruffin. The company also features Saint Aubyn, Shawn Bowers, E. Clayton Cornelious, Taylor Symone Jackson, Jahi Kearse, Jarvis B. Manning Jr., Joshua Morgan, Rashidra Scott, Nasia Thomas, Christian Thompson, Candice Marie Woods, Esther Antoine, Marcus Paul James, Jelani Remy, and Curtis Wiley.

Ain't Too Proud begins previews this evening at the Imperial Theatre ahead of a March 21 opening.