TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Ariana DeBose, Tony Yazbeck, and More Win 2018 Chita Rivera Awards

Carmen de Lavallade, John Kander, Harold Prince, and more received special honors at this year's celebration of dance in theater.

Summer: The Donna Summer Musical's Ariana DeBose won Outstanding Female Dancer in a Broadway Show at last night's Chita Rivera Awards.
(© David Gordon)

The winners of the 2018 Chita Rivera Awards were announced at the NYU Skirball Center for the Performing Arts last night.

Among them were Sergio Trujillo for his choreography of Summer: The Donna Summer Musical and Summer star Ariana DeBose; Prince of Broadway's Tony Yazbeck; and the ensembles of Carousel and Mean Girls, both of whom tied for Outstanding Ensemble in a Broadway Show. The film musical The Greatest Showman also won an award for Shannon Holtzapffel and Ashley Wallen's choreography.

In addition, actor, dancer, and choreographer Carmen de Lavallade received the second annual Lifetime Achievement Award; iconic composer John Kander received the Outstanding Contribution to Musical Theater as a Composer Award; legendary theater director and producer Harold Prince was presented with the SDC Director Award for Exemplary Collaboration With Choreographers; and Steven Hoggett received the inaugural Douglas and Ethel Watt Critics' Choice Award for his movement direction in Harry Potter and the Cursed Child.

See below for a full list of winners:


Outstanding Choreography in a Broadway Show
Sergio Trujillo, Summer: The Donna Summer Musical

Outstanding Ensemble in a Broadway Show
Mean Girls

Outstanding Male Dancer in a Broadway Show
Tony Yazbeck, Prince of Broadway

Outstanding Female Dancer in a Broadway Show
Ariana DeBose, Summer: The Donna Summer Musical

Outstanding Choreography in an Off-Broadway Show
Zach Morris and Jennine Willet, Ghost Light

Outstanding Female Dancer in an Off-Broadway Show
Monica Bill Barnes, One Night Only

Outstanding Male Dancer in an Off-Broadway Show
Robert Fairchild, Mary Shelley's Frankenstein


Theatrical Release
The Greatest Showman (starring Hugh Jackman), with choreography by Shannon Holtzapffel and Ashley Wallen

Anatomy of a Male Ballet Dancer (starring Marcelo Gomes), directed by David Barba and James Pellerito

The awards were produced by Nikki Feirt Atkins (founder and producing artistic director of American Dance Machine of the 21st Century) and Joe Lanteri (founder and executive director of the New York City Dance Alliance Foundation), with Patricia Watt and Iris Smith.