TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Glenn Close to Be Honored for Lifetime Achievement at Theatre World Awards

Josh Groban, Cobie Smulders, and more make the 2017 list of Theatre World Award winners.

Glenn Close will be honored with the John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre at the Theatre World Awards ceremony on June 5.
(© David Gordon)

The 2017 Theatre World Award honorees, to be celebrated on Monday June 5 at the Imperial Theatre, have been announced.

Honorees for Outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway Debut Performance include Carlo Albán (Sweat), Christy Altomare (Anastasia), Denée Benton (The Great Comet), Jon Jon Briones (Miss Saigon), Barrett Doss (Groundhog Day), Amber Gray (The Great Comet), Josh Groban (The Great Comet), Lucas Hedges (Yen), Raymond Lee (Vietgone), Eva Noblezada (Miss Saigon), Jeremy Secomb (Sweeney Todd), and Cobie Smulders (Present Laughter).

The ninth annual Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater will go to Katrina Lenk for her work in Indecent, now running at the Cort Theatre, and The Band's Visit, which ran earlier this season at Atlantic Theater Company.

Glenn Close (Sunset Boulevard) will also receive the fifth annual John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre, while Dave Molloy (The Great Comet) will be honored with a Special Theatre World Award in recognition for his Broadway debut as composer, writer, lyricist, orchestrator, and actor.

Hosted annually by theater journalist Peter Filichia, the 73rd annual Theatre World Awards ceremony is produced by Theatre World Awards, Inc. board of directors.