TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

Jennifer Cody, Daniel Jenkins, Estelle Parsons, Diane Paulus, Leslie Uggams, Rachel York, et al. Receive 2011 IRNE Nominations

Estelle Parsons in August: Osage County
(© Joan Marcus)
Nominations for the 2011 Independent Reviewers of New England (IRNE) Awards have been announced.

Acting nominees include Leigh Barrett (Trailer Park Musical), Noah Bean (Bus Stop), D. B. Bonds (Dirty Rotten Scoundrels), Jennifer Cody (Dirty Rotten Scoundrels), Thomas Derrah (Cabaret), Todd Gearhart (Sunset Blvd.), Daniel Jenkins (The Blue Flower), Lucas Kavner (The Blue Flower), Will Lyman (All My Sons), Karen MacDonald (All My Sons), Meghan McGeary (The Blue Flower), Brendon McNabb (The Adding Machine), Burke Moses (Johnny Baseball), Marissa Perry (Hairspray), Stefanie Powers (Sunset Blvd.), Martin Rayner (Freud's Last Session), Nikkole Salter (Stick Fly), Anne Scurria (Absurd Person Singular), Teal Wicks (The Blue Flower), Stephanie Umoh (Johnny Baseball), and Rachel York (Into the Woods).

Among the solo performance nominees are Jacqui Parker for Lady Day at Emerson's Bar and Grill, Karen MacDonald for The Blonde, the Brunette and the Vengeful Redhead, and Leslie Uggams for Uptown/Downtown.

Seth Rudetsky's Deconstructing B'Way is among the nominees for Visiting Production, while Visiting Performer nominees include Jackie Burns (Wicked), Estelle Parsons (August: Osage County), Scott Shepherd (Gatz), and Doug Elkins (Fraulein Maria).

Among the directing nominees are Larry Coen (Gold Dust Orphans' Phantom of the Oprah), Peter DuBois (Becky Shaw), David Esbjornson (All My Sons), Kenny Leon (Stick Fly), Nicholas Martin (Bus Stop), Diane Paulus (Johnny Baseball), and Charles Towers (Four Places).

Nominees in the New Play (Large) category include Lydia R. Diamond's Stick Fly; the Robert and Willie Reale/Richard Dresser musical Johnny Baseball; Bob Glaudini's Vengeance Is the Lord's; Jim and Ruth Bauer's The Blue Flower; Moises Kaufman & Co's The Laramie Project: Ten Years Later; and Jessica Blank and Erik Jensen's Aftermath.

Among the other notable nominees are playwright Melinda Lopez for From Orchids to Octopi; choreographer Casey Nicolaw for Spamalot; set designer Eugene Lee for Vengeance is the Lord's; set designer David Gallo for Stick Fly; and lighting designer Christopher Akerlind for All My Sons.

For additional information, including a full list of nominations, click here.


Tagged in this Story