TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Cate Blanchett, Euan Morton, Hugo Weaving Among Helen Hayes Award Winners logo
Cate Blanchett and Richard Roxburgh in Uncle Vanya
(© Lisa Tomasetti)
The winners of the 28th annual Helen Hayes Awards have been announced. The prizes were presented in a ceremony held on Monday, April 23.

Signature Theatre's production of Hairspray has earned a total of five awards, including Outstanding Resident Musical. Among its other honors are ones for actresses Carolyn Cole (Outstanding Lead Actress, Resident Musical) and Nova Payton (Outstanding Supporting Actress, Resident Musical), as well as the Outstanding Ensemble, Resident Musical Award.

In addition, Arena Stage's production of Lynn Nottage's Ruined has been named Outstanding Resident Play; Steppenwolf Theatre Company's production of Edward Albee's Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? has been named Outstanding Non-Resident Production; and Synetic Theater's King Lear received the prize for Outstanding Ensemble, Resident Play, among other honors

Sydney Theatre Company's Uncle Vanya earned two awards:Outstanding Lead Actress, Non-Resident Production for Cate Blanchett and an Outstanding Supporting Performer, Non-Resident Production for Hugo Weaving.

Acting winners also included Erica Sullivan (Venus in Fur), Rena Brown (Wit), Euan Morton (Parade), and Sahr Ngaujah (Fela).

Click here for more information and a complete list of Helen Hayes Award winners.


Tagged in this Story