TheaterMania Logo

About this show

The marriage of music and movement has always been at the heart of Mark Morris's creative process. To bring that central spark to the stage, his company performs only to live music. Now in Morris's masterwork L'Allegro, il Penseroso ed il Moderato the Mark Morris Dance Group moves to the lush sounds of Handel played by the Kennedy Center Opera House Orchestra under the baton of Jane Glover and featuring sopranos Lisa Saffer and Christine Brandes, tenor John McVeigh, baritone Thomas Meglioranza, and The Washington Bach Consort, directed by J. Reilly Lewis. The result is a dance masterpiece the New York Times hails as "a glorious outpouring of dance invention and humanistic imagery," while the Los Angeles Times praised Morris's adaptation of Handel's oratorio as "brimmed with life, color, powerful patterns, and a joyous humanity.

Show Details

  • Running Time:2hr
  • Dates:Closed on
  • Location:
    The Kennedy Center, Washington, DC