TheaterMania Logo

About this show

The 242-year-old Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, once led by Edvard Grieg, performs in the U.S. for the first time in 41 years, marking the centenary of Grieg's death. The Norwegian ensemble performs in Carnegie Hall's Isaac Stern Auditorium, with Andrew Litton conducting, and pianist Andre Watts as soloist. The program includes: Shostakovich - Festive Overture, Op. 96 Knut Vaage - Chatter (New York premiere) Grieg - Piano Concerto op. 16 in a minor (Mr. Watts) Shostakovich - Symphony No. 5, Op. 47 in d minor Andrew Litton, who is the first American to serve as the Bergen Philharmonic's Music Director, says "As a New Yorker, I'm thrilled to be bringing my orchestra to my home town. It's a fabulous ensemble with a beautiful string sound, a wind section bristling with character, clarion brass, and a virtuosic percussion section. I fell in love with this orchestra when I first conducted it nine years ago because of the passion and commitment of the playing and the deeply felt discipline of the work ethic." After his first guest appearance in 1998, Litton became the orchestra's Chief Conductor in 2003 and then, in 2005, its Music Director. Additional Ticket Information: Half price tickets for all seating locations are available for seniors and students; these tickets must be purchased in person at the Box Office.

Show Details

  • Dates:Closed on
  • Location:Carnegie Hall, New York City