TheaterMania Logo

About this show

This year's recipients include: Dah Teatar (Belgrade), International WOW Company, Gertrude Jeannette, and Ellen Stewart (founder of LaMaMa) Every year, the theatre community comes together to recognize and support theatre artists and companies who are dedicated to creating work that embraces humanistic and social concerns. Established in 1998 by the Castillo Theatre, the Otto Rene Castillo Award for Political Theatre has been bestowed upon such artists as Laurie Anderson, The Bread and Puppet Theater, Ed Bullins, The Carpetbag Theatre, Joseph Chaikin, Kathleen Chalfant, Foundry Theatre, LAByrinth Theater Cmpany, The Children's Prison Arts Project, The Culture Project, The 52nd Street Project, The Flea, The Living Theatre, Charles Mee, Ishmael Reed, The San Francisco Mime Troupe, Richard Schechner, Split Britches, the Steppenwolf Theatre Company, Target Margin Theater, El Teatro Campesino, Robert Wilson, and Woolly Mammoth, among many others. Join the Castillo Theatre on May 21 to celebrate the importance of risk-taking theatre work! "To receive an award for political theatre in Europe is not so unusual. Everyone is doing political theatre. But to receive an award for political theatre in America is a miracle!" -- Mario Fratti, playwright Castillo Box Office Hours: Monday - Friday, 7:00pm - 9:00pm Saturday & Sunday, 1:00pm - 4:00pm Appropriate For Ages: 12+

Show Details

  • Dates:Closed on
  • Location:
    Castillo Theatre, New York City