TheaterMania Logo

About this show

The Electronic Music Foundation, in collaboration with the Flea Theater presents its annual series, EMF Lab. Mixing technology with acoustic instrumentation, emerging and established composers/improvisers from various contemporary music scenes will join forces to explore the rich cultural potential in the convergence of sound, music and technology. This three-day event offers New York audiences a unique opportunity to hear the latest experiments in electronic music by some of today's most gifted and exciting artists. PROGRAM DETAILS: TUESDAY, MAY 20, 7:00 P.M. Jenny Olivia Johnson: beautiful/fragment (North American premiere) Jessica Schmitz, flute Evan Antonellis: memory/fixed objects Andy Kozar, trumpet; William Lang, trombone; Evan Antonellis, electronics Wil Smith: Automatic Arms (New York premiere) Eric KM Clark, violin; Kevin Lovelady, video; Wil Smith, electronics Matthew Burtner: Broken Drum; Fragments from the Cold; Kuik (aria); SxrAtch; That which is bodiless is reflected in bodies Morris Palter, percussion; Minna Chung, cello; Matthew Burtner, saxophones & laptop; Jaunelle Celaire, voice WEDNESDAY, MAY 21, 7:00 P.M. Jennifer Stock: City Scars (world premiere) Jennifer Stock, laptop and video Todd Reynolds: Still Life with Microphone, version X Todd Reynolds, violin; Luke DuBois, video THURSDAY, MAY 22, 7:00 P.M. Rusty Limited Company Aleksei Stevens: Pop. (world premiere) Aleksei Stevens, laptop; Jessica Schmitz, flute; Eleonore Oppenheim, bass; James Moore, guitar Airband: Free Electron; Accessory; KGBeats; Volta; Spit Langdon C. Crawford, Laura Sinnott, William David Fastenow, electronics Text of Light: Improvisation With film by Stan Brakhage Alan Licht, guitar; Lee Ranaldo, guitar; Ulrich Krieger, saxophones

Show Details