TheaterMania Logo
Photo Flash

Public Theater's A Midsummer Night's Dream Lives Up to Its Name

Annaleigh Ashford, Danny Burstein, and Phylicia Rashad star in the production, directed by Lear deBessonet.

Annaleigh Ashford commands the attention of Kyle Beltran (left) and Alex Hernandez in A Midsummer Night's Dream, directed by Lear deBessonet, at the Public Theater's Delacorte Theater.
(© Joan Marcus)

The Public Theater's free Shakespeare in the Park production of A Midsummer Night's Dream recently began previews and is set for its scheduled opening on July 31 at the Delacorte Theater. Lear deBessonet directs Shakespeare's comedy, running through August 13. Check out photos from the forest in the gallery below.

The complete cast features Annaleigh Ashford (Helena), De'Adre Aziza (Hippolyta), Kyle Beltran (Lysander), Min Borack (Fifth Fairy), Vinie Burrows (First Fairy, Peaseblossom), Danny Burstein (Nick Bottom), Justin Cunningham (Philostrate), Marcelle Davies-Lashley (Fairy Singer), Austin Durant (Snug), Shalita Grant (Hermia), Keith Hart (Third Fairy), Alex Hernandez (Demetrius), Jeff Hiller (Francis Flute), Robert Joy (Peter Quince), Patricia Lewis (Fourth Fairy), David Manis (Egeus, Cobweb), Pamela McPherson-Cornelius (Second Fairy), Patrena Murray (Snout), Kristine Nielsen (Puck), Bhavesh Patel (Theseus), Richard Poe (Oberon), Phylicia Rashad (Titania), Joe Tapper (Robin Starveling), Judith Wagner (Mote), Warren Wyss (Mustardseed), Benjamin Ye (Changeling Boy); and Rosanny Zayas (Understudy).

A Midsummer Night's Dream is described as follows: "When the merry sprite Puck meddles with a magical love potion, young lovers lost in the woods mysteriously find themselves infatuated with the wrong person in this hilarious, fairytale fantasia that proves the course of true love never did run smooth.''

The production features scenic design by David Rockwell; costume design by Clint Ramos; lighting design by Tyler Micoleau; sound design by Jessica Paz; hair, wig, and make-up design by Cookie Jordan; original music, music supervision, and orchestrations by Justin Levine, additional orchestrations by Charlie Rosen; additional music supervision by Dean Sharenow; and music direction by Jon Spurney.

For tickets and more information, click here.