TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Lynn Nottage and William Ivey Long Among 2017 Lucille Lortel Award Honorees

The awards have also announced the date of this year's ceremony.

Playwright Lynn Nottage will be among this year's Lucille Lortel Awards special honorees.
(© David Gordon)

The Off-Broadway League has announced details for the 2017 Lucille Lortel Awards as well as this year's special honorees. The 32nd Annual Lucille Lortel Awards will be handed out on May 7 at NYU Skirball Center for the Performing Arts.

Six-time Tony winning costume designer William Ivey Long will be presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award. Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Lynn Nottage will be inducted onto the famed Playwrights' Sidewalk in front of the Lucille Lortel Theatre. Finally, theater executive Harold Wolpert, who recently stepped down from his post as managing director of the Roundabout Theatre Company, will be honored with the Edith Oliver Service to Off-Broadway Award.

President of the Off-Broadway League, Adam Hess, also announced that the Lucille Lortel Awards will be adding the new category of Outstanding Projection Design.

The Lucille Lortel Awards recognize outstanding achievement off-Broadway. Representatives of the Off-Broadway League, Actors' Equity Association, Stage Directors & Choreographers Society, the Lucille Lortel Foundation, in addition to theater journalists and academics and other off-Broadway professionals, serve on the voting committee.