Theater News

West Side Story Cast Members Receive Equity Outstanding Chorus Award

The company of West Side Story
(© Joan Marcus)
The company of West Side Story
(© Joan Marcus)

Cast members of West Side Story will receive Actors’ Equity Association’s Third Annual Advisory Committee on Chorus Affairs (ACCA) Award for Outstanding Broadway Chorus. The award, which honors the distinctive talents and contributions made by the chorus of a Broadway musical, will be presented in a special ceremony on September 22 at an ACCA meeting at Actors’ Equity Association headquarters in New York City.

The winners, all of whom were part of the West Side Story chorus on the musical’s March 19, 2009 opening night, are Isaac H. Calpito, Hayley Carlucci, Peter John Chursin, Madeline Cintron, Kristine M. Covillo, Lindsay Dunn, Yurel Echezarreta, John Arthur Greene, Manuel J. Herrera, Marina Lazzaretto, Chase Madigan, Yanira Marin, Mileyka Mateo, Kaitlin Rae Mesh, Angelina Mullins, Kat Nejat, Christian Elan Ortiz, Pamela Otterson, Danielle Polanco, Sam Rogers, Michael Rosen, Amy Ryerson, Jennifer Sanchez, Manuel Santos, Michaeljon Slinger, and Tanairi Sade Vazquez.

West Side Story, with music by Leoanard Bernstein and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, has been directed by its two-time Tony Award winning librettist Arthur Laurents with the original Jerome Robbins choreography restaged by Joey McKneely.

The cast currently features Matt Cavenaugh as Tony, Josefina Scaglione as Maria, Karen Olivo as Anita, George Akram as Bernardo, John Arthur Greene as Riff, Steve Bassett as Lt. Schrank, Kyle Brenn as Boy Soprano, Joshua Buscher as Diesel, Mike Cannon as Snowboy, Kyle Coffman as A-Rab, Joey Haro as Chino, Eric Hatch as Big Deal, Curtis Holbrook as Action, Michael Mastro as Glad Hand, Danielle Polanco as Consuela, Jennifer Sanchez as Rosalia, Lee Sellars as Krupke, Tro Shaw as Anybodys, Ryan Steele as Baby John, and Greg Vinkler as Doc.

For further information, visit

Featured In This Story

West Side Story

Closed: January 2, 2011