Theater News

Starry Ragtime Benefit Reunion Concert Set for March

Brian Stokes Mitchell and Audra McDonald, the musical’s original co-stars, will reunite for the one-night-only performance.

Brian Stokes Mitchell and Audra McDonald in the original 1998 Broadway production of Ragtime.
Brian Stokes Mitchell and Audra McDonald in the original 1998 Broadway production of Ragtime.
(© Catherine Ashmore)

The Entertainment Community Fund has announced that the one-night-only benefit reunion concert of Ragtime, originally scheduled to take place in 2020, will be held on March 27 at the Minskoff Theatre (home of Broadway's The Lion King — the show that bested Ragtime for the Best Musical Tony Award in 1998).

The event will celebrate the 25th anniversary of Ragtime's Broadway opening and will star original cast members including six-time Tony Award winner Audra McDonald (Sarah), two-time Tony Award winner Brian Stokes Mitchell (Coalhouse Walker, Jr.), and SAG Award winner Peter Friedman (Tateh), with Tony Award winner Kelli O'Hara (Mother) in the role originally performed by the late Marin Mazzie.

Additional cast members will include Mark Aldrich, Shaun Amyot, John D. Baker, Dara Paige Bloomfield, Sandra M. Bonitto, Mark Cassius, Jamie Chandler-Torns, Albert Christmas, Dioni Michelle Collins, Jim Corti, Pierce Cravens, Larry Daggett, Bernard Dotson, Roberta Duchak, Donna Dunmire, Adam Dyer, Duane Martin Foster, Patty Goble, Darlene Bel Grayson, Elisa Heinsohn, David Hess, Rosena Hill, Adam Hunter, Mark Jacoby, Anne Kanengeiser, Judy Kaye, Mary Sharon Komarek (Dziedzic), Joe Langworth, Joe Locarro, Dan Manning, Michael X. Martin, Mary McCandless, Allyson Tucker Mitchell, Anne L. Nathan, Monica Patton (Richards), Lynette Perry, Orgena Rose, Gordon Stanley, Steven Sutcliffe, Todd Thurston, Vanessa Townsell-Crisp, Rema Webb, Leon Williams, Bruce Winant, and Eric Jordan Young.

Based on the classic American novel by E.L. Doctorow, Ragtime has a Tony-winning book by Terrence McNally and a Tony-winning score by Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty. The evening will be directed by Stafford Arima, with James Moore as music director and conductor. Creative team members also include projections designers Wendall K. Harrington and Shawn Boyle, sound designer Peter Hylenski, lighting designer Don Holder, and costume designer Tracy Christensen.

All proceeds from the benefit concert will support the Entertainment Community Fund.