Theater News

New Godspell Cast Recording to Be Digitally Released December 20

Ghostlight Records will digitally release the new Broadway cast recording of Godspell on December 20. The recording, produced by Stephen Schwartz, Michael Holland, and Kurt Deutsch, will be available for purchase in stores on January 31.

With music and lyrics by Schwartz, the show includes such hits as “Day by Day,” “Turn Back, O Man,” “Learn Your Lessons Well,” “Prepare Ye,” and “Light of the World.” Bonus material on the album will include a bonus track of “Beautiful City” as performed by John Ondrasik of Five for Fighting, and an “after hours” rendition of “Learn Your Lessons Well.”

The recording will be accompanied by a booklet containing full lyrics and liner notes from Schwartz and from Paul Shaffer, who served as the musical director of the original Broadway production of Godspell 40 years ago.

Godspell, currently playing at Circle in the Square Theatre, features Hunter Parrish as Jesus, Wallace Smith as Judas, and Uzo Aduba, Nick Blaemire, Celisse Henderson, Morgan James, Telly Leung, Lindsay Mendez, Anna Maria Perez de Tagle, and George Salazar. Daniel Goldstein has directed the production, which features choreography by Christopher Gattelli.

In advance of the December 20 digital release date, full streaming audio of the song “Prepare Ye” is available on Facebook.

For more information and to pre-order, click here.

For tickets and more information on the Broadway revival, click here.

Featured In This Story


Closed: June 24, 2012