TV News

Kristine Nielsen, Michael Park, and More Join NBC's The Sound of Music Live! Broadcast

Full casting for the televised version of Rodgers and Hammerstein’s classic musical.

Kristine Nielsen
Kristine Nielsen
(© David Gordon)

A host of Broadway veterans will join Carrie Underwood and Stephen Moyer in NBC's upcoming telecast of The Sound of Music Live! The December 5 broadcast will use the classic Rodgers and Hammerstein musical's original stage script.

With Grammy winner Underwood as Maria and True Blood star Moyer as Captain von Trapp, the principal company also includes the previously announced Tony winners Laura Benanti as Elsa Schraeder, Christian Borle as Max Detweiler, and Audra McDonald as the Mother Abbess.

Newly announced to the company are Broadway veterans Kristine Nielsen as Frau Schmidt, Sean Cullen as Franz, C.J. Wilson as Herr Zeller, Michael Park as Baron Elberfeld, Catherine Brunell as Frau Zeller, Jessica Molaskey as Sister Berthe, Christiane Noll as Sister Margaretta, Elena Shaddow as Sister Sophia, and John Bolger as Admiral von Schrieber. Principal cast members also include Michael Campayno as Rolf, Ariane Rinehart as Liesl, Peyton Ella as Gretl, Grace Rundhaug as Marta, Joe West as Kurt, Ella Watts-Gorman as Louisa, Michael Nigro as Friedrich, and Sophia Caruso as Brigitta.

The ensemble features Georgia Stitt, Linda Mugleston, Paula Leggett Chase, Margo de la Barre, Laura Shoop, Sydney Morton, Wendi Bergman, Cameron Adams, Rema Webb, Rayanne Gonzales, Andrea Jones-Sojola, Adrienne Danrich, Ashley Brown, Autumn Hurlbert, Catherine Brunell, Leah Horowitz, Gina Ferrall, Nikki Renee Daniels, Joy Hermalin, Stoe Brown, Charlie Williams, Jake Boyd, Wendi Bergamini, Shannon Lewis, Samantha Zack, Megan Sikora, Jeannie Ford, Matt Wall, Ward Billisen, Marty Lawson, Alex Michael Stoll, Bob Gaynor, Karl Warden, Brandon Henschal, and David Hull.

A cast recording of The Sound of Music Live! will be released on December 3. A DVD release is planned for December 17.