Theater News

Eve Ensler, Carole Rothman, Monica Bill Barnes to Be Honored at 2018 Lilly Awards

The annual event will take place this May.

Eve Ensler will be honored at the 2018 Lilly Awards.
Eve Ensler will be honored at the 2018 Lilly Awards.
(© Allison Stock)

The 9th annual Lilly Awards, honoring the accomplishments of women working in the American theater, will take place on Monday, May 21, at the Minetta Lane Theatre.

This year's Lilly Awards honorees include In the Body of the World playwright-performer Eve Ensler, Second Stage Theater artistic director Carole Rothman, actress and activist Lori Myers, journalist P. Carl, dancer-choreographer Monica Bill Barnes, and Wisconsin gubernatorial candidate Kelda Roys.

The ceremony will also feature the presentation of the New York Women's Foundation Directing Apprenticeship Award, the Stacey Mindich "Go Write a Play" Award, and the Daryl Roth Creative Spirit Award.

The Lilly Awards were started in the spring of 2010 by Julia Jordan, Marsha Norman, and Theresa Rebeck to honor the work of women in the American theater and advocate for gender parity. They are named for pioneering playwright Lillian Hellman.