Theater News

Casting Announced for A Thousand Splendid Suns's Two-Week Return

American Conservatory Theater’s production of ”A Thousand Splendid Suns” returns to San Fransisco this summer.

Joseph Kamal, Lanna Joffrey, and Nadine Malouf in the original run of A Thousand Splendid Suns. The three will return for the upcoming engagement.
Joseph Kamal, Lanna Joffrey, and Nadine Malouf in the original run of A Thousand Splendid Suns. They will return for the upcoming engagement.
(© Jim Cox)

Casting has been announced for the return of American Conservatory Theater's acclaimed theatrical adaptation of Khaled Hosseini's international best-selling novel A Thousand Splendid Suns. The play will run at A.C.T.'s Geary Theater for a limited two-week engagement, July 17-29, as part of a West Coast tour that includes runs at San Diego's Old Globe Theatre and Seattle Repertory Theatre.

Under the direction of Carey Perloff, the cast of A Thousand Splendid Suns features (in alphabetical order) Rinabeth Apostol, Denmo Ibrahim, Lanna Joffrey, Haysam Kadri, Joseph Kamal, Jason Kapoor, Nadine Malouf, Sunil Mukherjee Maurillo, Kunal Prasad, Nikita Tewani, Antoine Yared, and Andres Zamora.

Set amid the war-torn streets of modern-day Kabul, A Thousand Splendid Suns is the epic story of three generations of Afghan women bound together by marriage, family, and a secret past. Strong-willed Laila, unmarried and pregnant, is forced to marry her older neighbor when her family and home are torn apart. In her new home, she forges an extraordinary and unlikely friendship with Mariam, her husband's first wife, and together the two women find the hope and strength to raise a new generation. Adapted for the stage by acclaimed Irish Indian playwright Ursula Rani Sarma, this stunning production reunites many of the original cast members and will, once again, feature live music from renowned composer and saw player David Coulter.

The creative team for A Thousand Splendid Suns includes Ken MacDonald (set designer), Linda Cho (costume designer), Robert Wierzel (lighting designer), Jake Rodriguez (sound designer), Stephen Buescher (choreographer), and David Coulter (composer and musician).