Theater News

Be More Chill to Release Original Cast Album on Vinyl

The new Joe Iconis musical will make its off-Broadway debut this summer at the Pershing Square Signature Center.

Will Connolly as Jeremy in the original cast of Be More Chill at Two River Theater.
Will Connolly as Jeremy in the original cast of Be More Chill at Two River Theater.
(© T. Charles Erickson)

The original cast recording of Be More Chill will be released on vinyl by Ghostlight Records this July, coinciding with the new musical's off-Broadway debut at the Pershing Square Signature Center. Performances are set to run July 26-September 23 on the Irene Diamond Stage.

Be More Chill, based on the novel by Ned Vizzini, features music and lyrics by Joe Iconis and book by Joe Tracz. The story is described as follows: "Jeremy Heere is your average, nothing-special teenager at Middleborough High in nothing-special New Jersey… until the day he finds out about 'The Squip.' Thus begins a journey that pits Jeremy's desire to be popular against his struggle to remain true to his authentic self."

Fans who preorder through PledgeMusic will be the first to receive the vinyl package, which features new illustrative designs, colored discs, and a booklet with lyrics, production photos, and a new liner note from Joe Iconis. They will also will have the exclusive opportunity to pledge on copies of the vinyl, in addition to limited edition and signed cast album merchandise, once-in-a-lifetime experiences, and costumes and props from the original production at Two River Theater. A digital download of the original cast recording is included with each offer. To preorder, click here.

Be More Chill had its world premiere in an extended run at Two River Theater in Red Bank, New Jersey. Original cast members featured on the album include Jake Boyd (Jake), Gerard Canonico (Rich), Katlyn Carlson (Chloe), Will Connolly (Jeremy), Stephanie Hsu (Christine), Katie Ladner (Jenna Rolan), Lauren Marcus (Brooke), Eric William Morris (The Squip), George Salazar (Michael), and Paul Whitty (Jeremy's Dad/Mr. Reyes/Scary Stockboy). The six-piece orchestra includes Nathan Dame (conductor and keyboard), Danny Jonokuchi (theremin and trumpet), Dan McMillan (drums and percussion), Josh Plotner (vocoder and reeds), Mike Rosengarten (guitar) and Amanda Ruzza (bass).

The show's upcoming off-Broadway production will be directed by Stephen Brackett and choreographed by Chase Brock. Will Roland (Dear Evan Hansen) will star as Jeremy, alongside original cast members Gerard Canonico as Rich, Katlyn Carlson as Chloe, Stephanie Hsu as Christine, Lauren Marcus as Brooke, and George Salazar as Michael. Jason SweetTooth Williams will play Jeremy's Dad/Mr. Reyes.