Theater News

Ari'el Stachel and Jimmy Award Alums to Present at the 2018 Jimmy Awards

Disney’s ”Freaky Friday” stars Heidi Blickenstaff and Cozi Zuehlsdorff will also be in attendance.

Tony winner Ari'el Stachel will present at the 2018 Jimmy Awards.
Tony winner Ari'el Stachel will present at the 2018 Jimmy Awards.
(© David Gordon)

The Jimmy Awards has announced the presenters for the 10th annual awards ceremony on Monday, June 25, at the Minskoff Theatre.

The six presenters will include 2018 Tony Award winner Ari'el Stachel (The Band's Visit), Jimmy Awards alumni and current Broadway stars Jai'len Christine Li Josey (SpongeBob SquarePants), Nathan Salstone (Harry Potter and the Cursed Child), and Kyle Selig (Mean Girls). Also presenting at this year's ceremony are the stars of the Disney Channel Original Movie Freaky Friday, Heidi Blickenstaff and Cozi Zuehlsdorff.

Hosted by Tony Award winner Laura Benanti (She Loves Me, Gypsy), this year's Jimmy Awards ceremony will be streamed live in its entirety on Facebook. The show will feature performances from the Jimmy Award nominees following a nine-day professional training intensive with NYU Tisch School of the Arts' New Studio on Broadway faculty members, plus other theater professionals. Student performers qualify to compete in the national program by winning top honors at regional high school musical theater awards competitions presented by Broadway League member performing arts centers. Over 1,500 high schools and 100,000 students participate in these annual events.

Founded in 2009 by Nederlander Alliances LLC, Pittsburgh CLO, and Broadway Education Alliance (BEA), the mission of the Jimmy Awards/National High School Musical Theatre Awards (NHSMTA) is to raise the profile of musical theater in schools, recognize dedicated teachers, and inspire the next generation of performers and enthusiasts. Since the inception of the program, participating students have earned over $2 million in university and conservatory scholarships. Several student participants have already been cast in Broadway, touring, and West End productions.