Theater News

Amazing Grace to End Broadway Run

Josh Young and Chuck Cooper star in this new musical about the creation of the world’s most famous hymn.

Josh Young (center) with the cast of the new musical Amazing Grace at the Nederlander Theatre on Broadway.
Josh Young (center) with the cast of the new musical Amazing Grace at the Nederlander Theatre on Broadway.
(© Joan Marcus)

The new Broadway musical Amazing Grace will end its run at the Nederlander Theatre on October 25 after 114 performances and 24 previews. Directed by Gabriel Barre and written by Christopher Smith and Arthur Giron, Amazing Grace played a 2014 out-of-town tryout at Chicago's Bank of America Theatre and opened in New York on July 16.

The musical has also announced plans for a national tour, which is being planned by Troika Entertainment. Additional details on the tour will be announced at a later date.

Amazing Grace is based on the true story behind the world's most beloved song. A captivating tale of romance, rebellion, and redemption, the show follows one man whose incredible journey ignited a historic wave of change that gave birth to the abolitionist movement.

Leading the cast are Josh Young (Jesus Christ Superstar), Erin Mackey (Chaplin), Tony Award winner Chuck Cooper (Little Shop of Horrors), Tom Hewitt (Doctor Zhivago), Chris Hoch (Matilda The Musical), Stanley Bahorek (The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee), Harriett D. Foy (Mamma Mia!), Laiona Michelle (The Book of Mormon national tour), Elizabeth Ward Land (Scandalous), and Rachael Ferrera, all of whom starred in the Chicago production.

The full ensemble is made up of Leslie Becker, Sara Brophy, Rheaume Crenshaw, Miquel Edson, Mike Evariste, Sean Ewing, Savannah Frazier, Christopher Gurr, Allen Kendall, Michael Dean Morgan, Vince Oddo, Oneika Phillips, Clifton Samuels, Gavriel Savit, Dan Sharkey, Bret Shuford, Evan Alexander Smith, Uyoata Udi, Charles E. Wallace, Toni Elizabeth White, and Hollie E. Wright.

The creative team includes Tony winner Christopher Gattelli (choreography), Eugene Lee and Edward Pierce (scenic design), Toni-Leslie James (costume design), Ken Billington and Paul Miller (lighting design), and Jon Weston (sound design).

For tickets and more information, click here.

Featured In This Story