Theater News

Aaron Tveit, Hannah Elless, Kate Baldwin, and More Set for Dramatists Guild Fund Gala

The evening will celebrate the works of Stephen Sondheim and more.

Aaron Tveit will take part in the Dramatists Guild Fund's 2016 gala.
Aaron Tveit will take part in the Dramatists Guild Fund's 2016 gala.
(© David Gordon)

The Dramatists Guild Fund has announced the list of performers for its annual benefit, Great Writers Thank Their Lucky Stars: The Presidential Edition, to be held on November 7 at Gotham Hall.

The annual event is the most critical fundraising event of the year for the Dramatists Guild Fund, the charitable arm of the Dramatists Guild of America. It will feature Nell Benjamin, Mindi Dickstein, Carol Hall, Tom Kitt, Nan Knighton, Robert Schenkkan, Stephen Schwartz, and Stephen Sondheim introducing the stars who brought their work to life on stage.

The lineup is set to include Tituss Burgess performing "The Star-Spangled Banner," Hannah Elless performing "Astonishing" from Little Women, Mandy Gonzalez performing "Satisfied" from Hamilton, Douglas Sills performing "Into the Fire" from The Scarlet Pimpernel, Kate Baldwin performing "Hard Candy Christmas" from The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas, and Aaron Tveit performing "Morning Glow" from Pippin. Stephen Sondheim will debut "The Flag Song" from Assassins which was cut before performances began and Nell Benjamin and Tom Kitt will debut a song from their new musical Dave, performed by Christopher Sieber. Additional casting to be announced.

Annette Jolles will direct the gala with a script by Jonathan Tolins and music direction by Charlie Rosen.