TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

The Ziegfeld Club Accepting Liz Swados Inspiration Grant Applications

The grant is underwritten by Diane Lane. logo
The Ziegfeld Club's presentation of the Billie Burke Ziegfeld Award and the Liz Swados Inspiration Grant. Back row: Roz Lichter, Diane Lane, Laurie Sanderson, and Eleanor Lambert; front row: Masi Asare, Cecilia Smith, and Anna K. Jacobs.
(© David Gordon)

The Ziegfeld Club is accepting applications for the second Liz Swados Inspiration Grant to honor an influential female music educator in New York City.

Created in 2016, the grant is underwritten by actor Diane Lane in partnership with the Ziegfeld Club Inc. The 2017 recipient will be honored at a reception in November at the New Amsterdam Theatre and will receive a grant in the amount of $5,000. The application for the Liz Swados Inspiration Grant will be open from May 15 through June 16.

Swados' many works include the Obie-winning Nightclub Cantata, Alice at the Palace, and Runaways. The Ziegfeld Club was founded in 1936 by actress Billie Burke in honor of her late husband, Florenz Ziegfeld, musical theater impresario and producer of the legendary Ziegfeld Follies. The organization was originally formed to provide help to Ziegfeld Girls who had fallen on hard times. As all of the Ziegfeld Girls have now passed away, the Ziegfeld Club's mission remains to help women of today's musical theatre.

For more information about the Liz Swados Inspiration Grant, click here.