TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Woody Allen Wins Writers Guild of America Award logo
Woody Allen
(© Tristan Fuge)
Oscar winner and noted playwright Woody Allen has won the Writers Guild of America award for original screenplay for his film Midnight in Paris.

Other films and television series honored by the group include The Descendants, Better This World, Modern Family, Breaking Bad, Homeland, The Simpsons, Too Big to Fail, Cinema Verite, The Colbert Report, and General Hospital.

Allen's work for the stage includes the one-act Honeymoon Hotel, which was part of the recent Broadway production of Relatively Speaking. His other plays include From A to Z, Don't Drink the Water, Play It Again, Sam, The Floating Lightbulb, Writer's Block, and A Second Hand Memoir.

He is an Oscar nominee this year for Midnight in Paris, and won Academy Awards for both writing and directing Annie Hall, and for writing Hannah and Her Sisters.

Tagged in this Story