TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Patricia Clarkson, Anne Hathaway, Julianne Moore, Stanley Tucci, et al. Set for Gotham Independent Film Awards logo
Stanley Tucci
(© Tristan Fuge)
Stage and screen veterans Patricia Clarkson and Stanley Tucci will co-host the 20th Anniversary Gotham Independent Awards, to be held on Monday, November 29 at Cipriani Wall Street.

Presenters will Include Julianne Moore, Anne Hathaway, Jesse Eisenberg, Barbara Kopple, Anthony Mackie, Leighton Meester, Rosie Perez, Sam Rockwell, John Turturro, and Michelle Williams.

Stage veteran John Ortiz has received one of the nominations for the Breakthrough Actor Award for his performance in Jack Goes Boating. Also nominated in this category are Prince Adu (Prince of Broadway), Ronald Bronstein (Daddy Longlegs), Greta Gerwig (Greenberg), and Jennifer Lawrence (Winter's Bone).

Performers with theater credits are also prominent in the Best Ensemble Performance category, where the nominees are The Kids Are All Right, with Annette Bening, Julianne Moore, and Mark Ruffalo; Life During Wartime, which features Ciarán Hinds, Allison Janney, Paul Reubens, Ally Sheedy, and Renée Taylor; and Please Give, with Amanda Peet, Oliver Platt, Rebecca Hall, and Lois Smith. The other nominated ensembles are from the films Tiny Furniture and Winter's Bone.

The artists nominated in the Breakthrough Director category are John Wells (The Company Men); Kevin Asch (Holy Rollers); Glenn Ficarra and John Requa (I Love You Phillip Morris); Tanya Hamilton (Night Catches Us); and Lena Dunham (Tiny Furniture). The films which are competing for the Best Feature Award are Black Swan, Blue Valentine, The Kids Are All Right, Let Me In, and Winter's Gone.

In addition, Robert Duvall, Hilary Swank, Darren Aronofsky and Focus Features CEO James Schamus will each receive a career tribute.

Tagged in this Story