TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Michael Friedman, Eve Ensler, WP Theater to Be Honored at 2018 Lucille Lortel Awards

The honors will be presented on Sunday, May 6.

Eve Ensler and Michael Friedman will be honored at this year's Lucille Lortel Awards ceremony.
(© Allison Stock / David Gordon)

The Lucille Lortel Awards will honor In the Body of the World writer-performer Eve Ensler and late theatrical composer-lyricist Michael Friedman at its 2018 ceremony, set to take place Sunday, May 6, at the N.Y.U. Skirball Center for the Performing Arts.

Ensler, who also penned the plays The Vagina Monologues and The Good Body, will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Friedman, whose musicals included Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson, The Fortress of Solitude, and Gone Missing, will have his name added posthumously to the famed Playwrights' Sidewalk in front of the Lucille Lortel Theatre.

WP Theater, formerly known as Women's Project Theater, will be honored for its Outstanding Body of Work.

The Lucille Lortel Awards recognize outstanding achievement off-Broadway. Representatives of the Off-Broadway League, Actors' Equity Association, Stage Directors & Choreographers Society, and the Lucille Lortel Foundation serve on the voting committee, as do other off-Broadway professionals, theater journalists, and academics. Additional information about the 2018 Lucille Lortel Awards will be announced in the coming months.