TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Lysistrata Jones Original Cast Recording Set for May 15 Release logo
The original cast recording of Lysistrata Jones, released by Broadway Records, will be available for purchase on May 15. A date for the album's digital release will be announced in the near future.

The 19-track disc will include the songs from the production, including "Change the World," "I Don't Think So," "No More Giving It Up," "Don't Judge a Book," and "Hold On," along with one bonus track to be announced. The recording will be accompanied by a booklet containing essays from the creative team, as well as complete lyrics.

The show, inspired by Aristophanes' Lysistrata and featuring a book by Douglas Carter Beane and music and lyrics by Lewis Flinn, is set at Athens University, where head cheerleader Lysistrata Jones swears to hold out on "giving it up" until the school's basketball team reverses its seemingly hopeless losing streak.

Dan Knechtges directed and choreographed the production, which ran at the Walter Kerr Theatre late last year. The company featured Patti Murin in the title role, along with Liz Mikel (Hetaira), Josh Segarra (Mick), (Xander), and Lindsay Nicole Chambers (Robin), Alexander Aguilar (Uardo), Ato Blankson-Wood (Tyllus), Katie Boren (Lampito), Kat Nejat (Cleonice), LaQuet Sharnell (Mhyrinne), Teddy Toye (Harold), and Alex Wyse (Cinesius).


Tagged in this Story