TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

London Critics' Circle Award Winners Announced logo
Dominic Rowan and Eve Best
in Mourning Becomes Electra
photo © Ivan Kyncl
The London Critics' Circle Award winners were announced today; the biggest winner was the National Theatre's Mourning Becomes Electra, which picked up three awards. Following is a complete list of the winners:

Jack Tinker Award for Most Promising Newcomer
Lisa Dillon for Iphigenia, Sheffield Theatres and The Master Builder, Albery Theatre

Most Promising Playwright
Lucy Prebble for The Sugar Syndrome, Royal Court

Best Designer
Bob Crowley for Mourning Becomes Electra, National Theatre

Best Director
Howard Davies for Mourning Becomes Electra, National Theatre

The John and Wendy Trewin Award for Best Shakespearean Performance
Greg Hicks for Coriolanus, Royal Shakespeare Company

Best Actress
Eve Best for Mourning Becomes Electra, National Theatre

Best Actor
Michael Sheen for Caligula, Donmar Warehouse

Best Musical
Jerry Springer: The Opera, Battersea Arts Center, National Theatre & Cambridge Theatre

Best New Play
Democracy by Michael Frayn, National Theatre

Tagged in this Story