TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Lois Smith and Frances Sternhagen to be Honored With Lifetime Achievement Awards at 58th Annual Obies

Meryl Streep will present them with the honor at a ceremony hosted by Jessica Hecht and Jeremy Shamos. logo
Lois Smith and Frances Sternhagen
(© David Gordon)

Tony Award nominees Jessica Hecht and Jeremy Shamos, currently appearing in the Broadway production of Richard Greenberg's new drama The Assembled Parties, will cohost the Village Voice's 58th Annual Obie Awards, to be held Monday, May 20 at Webster Hall.

At this year's ceremony, veteran stage actors Lois Smith (Heartless) and Frances Sternhagen (The Madrid) will receive 2013 Lifetime Achievement Awards, presented to them by Academy Award winner Meryl Streep. On hand to present other awards will be Bobby Cannavale (The Big Knife), Maggie Grace (Picnic), Judith Light (The Assembled Parties), Aasif Mandvi (Disgraced), Krysta Rodriguez (Smash), Duncan Sheik (Spring Awakening), and Courtney B. Vance (Lucky Guy).

The Village Voice Obie Awards have honored the best of off-Broadway and off-off-Broadway theater since 1956. With categories that change annually, the Obie Awards list no nominations publicly, and are judged by a committee that is allowed to give several honors in each category and invent new ones to reward artistic merit. This year's judging committee includes Village Voice chief theater critic Michael Feingold, Village Voice drama critic Alexis Soloski, Obie Award-winning playwright Erin Courtney (A Map of Virtue), Mia Katigbak, artistic producing director and cofounder of the National Asian American Theatre Company, Theater magazine editor Tom Sellar, and two-time Obie Award-winning director Leigh Silverman (The Call).

Tickets to attend the Obie Awards ceremony will go on sale April 10. Click here for more information.