TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Dramatists Guild Fund Names Laurence O'Keefe Fellows Program Cochair

O'Keefe is the songwriter behind Legally Blonde and Heathers: The Musical.

Laurence O'Keefe has been named cochair of the Dramatists Guild Fund's Fellows Program.
(© David Gordon)

Tony-nominated songwriter Laurence O'Keefe (Legally Blonde, Heathers: The Musical) will cochair the Dramatists Guild Fund's Fellows Program, Guild president Andrew Lippa and executive director Rachel Routh have announced.

The Fellows program, a nine-month intensive in New York, brings together playwrights and musical theater writers to discuss their work, introduce them to experienced theater professionals, and pair them with artist mentors. Founded in 2000 by Lynn Ahrens and Janet Neipris, who led the program for many years along with Stephen Flaherty and Susan Miller, the Fellows Program has been instrumental to over 100 dramatists early in their careers.

In addition to O'Keefe, playwright and former Fellow Sheri Wilner (Kingdom City) will serve as program director. Michael Korie (Grey Gardens) and Diana Son (Stop Kiss) serve as program chairs of the Dramatists Guild and Dramatists Guild Fund's Fellows Program, respectively. Former fellows include Oscar winner Kristen Anderson-Lopez (Frozen), Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (Dear Evan Hansen), and Rajiv Joseph (Guards at the Taj), among others.