TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Lauren Bacall and Blythe Danner to Receive Katharine Hepburn Medals from Bryn Mawr logo
Lauren Bacall, Blythe Danner
(Photos © Joseph Marzullo/Retna)
Tony Award winners Lauren Bacall and Blythe Danner will each receive the Katharine Hepburn Medal from Bryn Mawr College at a gala celebration to be held on Saturday, September 9 at the Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts in Philadelphia. The event, which will help mark the launch of the college's new Katharine Hepburn Center, will be hosted by Cynthia McFadden of ABC News.

The Hepburn Center and the award are named for the legendary star, who graduated from Bryn Mawr in 1928. The Katharine Hepburn Medal honors "women whose lives, work, and contributions embody the intelligence, drive, and independence of Katharine Hepburn."

Bacall won Tony Awards for Best Actress in a Musical for her work in Applause and Woman of the Year. Her other Broadway credits include Cactus Flower and Waiting in the Wings. A movie star for more than six decades, her many films include To Have and Have Not, The Big Sleep, How to Marry a Millionaire, Murder on the Orient Express, and The Mirror Has Two Faces, for which she received an Academy Award nomination.

Danner won a Tony Award for Best Featured Actress in a Play for Butterflies Are Free. She also received Tony nominations for Betrayal, A Streetcar Named Desire, and Follies. Her films include 1776, The Great Santini, The Prince of Tides, and Meet the Fockers. Last year, she earned a record-breaking three Emmy Award nominations, and won the award for Best Supporting Actress for her role as Izzy in Huff. She is nominated again this year for that role and also for her recurring role of Marilyn Truman on Will & Grace.

Tagged in this Story