TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Broadway's Kate Shindle Named President of the Actors' Equity Association

Union officers and regional vice presidents have also been elected.

Kate Shindle has been elected as the new president of the Actors' Equity Association.

The Actors' Equity Association has announced the results of its 2015 national council election. All seats are effective immediately and will last for three-year terms.

Broadway veteran Kate Shindle, who most recently appeared in A Christmas Story The Musical and is known for creating the role of Vivienne in Legally Blonde The Musical, was named as new president of the union, replacing incumbent Nick Wyman. In addition to her Broadway background, Shindle was Miss America 1998. Running uncontested in top-ranking officer positions were Paige Price (first vice president), Rebecca Kim Jordan (second vice president), Ira Mont (third vice president), and Sandra Karas (secretary/treasurer).

Dev Kennedy, Central region vice president, and Melissa Robinette, Eastern region vice president, also ran uncontested for their respective offices and were reelected. Doug Carfrae was also reelected as the Western regional vice president.

In addition to the elected officer seats, 16 council seats were filled. In the Eastern region, incumbents Dana Ivey, Maureen Moore, Judy Rice, and Kristine Nevens return with Tonya Pinkins, Kate O'Phalen, and Sid Solomon joining them as principal councillors. Joanne Borts, who previously served on council, returns as a principal councillor. Incumbent Ruth E. Kramer and newly elected Amber White are stage manager councillors. Bill Bateman, who ran uncontested, returns as a chorus councillor.

In addition, two seats were uncontested in the Central region: Ariane Dolan reupped as chorus councillor and Malcolm D. Ewen returns as stage manager councillor. In the Western region, Mary-Pat Green and Jeff Marlow, and incumbent Barbara N. Roberts, were elected as principal councillors. There were no chorus or stage manager seats open.

Equity's national council is the policy-making and governing body of the union, comprised of eight officers and 75 councillors who reside within Equity's three geographic regions.