TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Harrington, Lindsay-Abaire, Solly, Ward Win Kleban Awards logo
David Lindsay-Abaire
(© Joseph Marzullo/Retna)
The winners of the 18th Annual Kleban Awards for Musical Theater will be presented by New Dramatists on Monday, June 4 at ASCAP. The prizes each come with a $100,000 cash award, payable over two years.

Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright David Lindsay-Abaire, whose work includes Rabbit Hole and Kimberly Akimbo, was named Most Promising Musical Theatre Lyricist. He is currently working with Jeanine Tesori on the upcoming Broadway-bound musical Shrek.

A tie was announced in the category of Most Promising Librettist between Laura Harrington, whose work includes Alice Unwrapped and Crossing Brooklyn -- written with Jenny Giering -- and the team of Bil Solly and Donald Ward, whose work includes Sweet William, Tent Show, and Boy Meets Boy.

Tagged in this Story