TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

Frozen's Robert Lopez and Kristen Anderson-Lopez to Announce the 59th Annual Drama Desk Award Nominations With Cinderella's Fran Drescher

The Drama Desk Awards will be held June 1 at the Town Hall.

Cinderella star Fran Drescher and Frozen composers Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez will announce the 59th annual Drama Desk Award nominations.
(© David Gordon)

Newly minted EGOT Robert Lopez, Academy Award winner Kristen Anderson-Lopez, and two-time Emmy and Golden Globe nominee Fran Drescher will announce the nominations for the 59th Annual Drama Desk Awards. Gretchen Shugart, Drama Desk Awards producer and CEO of, and Isa Goldberg, Drama Desk president, made the announcement this morning. The nominations announcement event will take place April 25 at 11am at 54 Below.

Robert Lopez is a Drama Desk and Tony Award winner for The Book of Mormon and Drama Desk nominee for Avenue Q, and Kristen Anderson-Lopez is a Drama Desk nominee for In Transit. Robert also became the youngest EGOT (Emmy, Grammy, Oscar, Tony) recipient, at age 39, when he and Kristen Anderson-Lopez won the Best Original Song Oscar for "Let It Go" from Disney's Frozen.

Fran Drescher, now making her Broadway debut as the wicked stepmother in Rodgers + Hammerstein's Cinderella, is perhaps best known for her Emmy- and Golden Globe-nominated role of Fran Fine on TV's The Nanny.

The Drama Desk Awards, which are presented annually, honor outstanding achievement by professional theater artists on Broadway, off-Broadway, and off-off Broadway. The awards are voted on by theater critics, journalists, editors, and publishers covering theater. The 2013-2014 Drama Desk nominating committee is composed of Barbara Siegel, chairperson; Morgan Jenness; Samuel L. Leiter; Chad McArver; Martha Wade Steketee; and James Wilson.

The 59th Annual Drama Desk Awards, hosted by Drama Desk Award winner Laura Benanti, will be held at The Town Hall on June 1. For more information, click here.

The nominations announcement news conference and the Drama Desk Awards show will be live-streamed on