TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Ellen Barkin, John Benjamin Hickey, Jeffrey Wright et al. Set for George C. Wolfe Tribute logo
John Benjamin Hickey
(© Tristan Fuge)
Ellen Barkin, Bobby Cannavale, Ann Duquesnay, John Benjamin Hickey, Joe Mantello, Tonya Pinkins, Ruben Santiago-Hudson, Elaine Stritch, Charlayne Woodard, and Jeffrey Wright will participate in a tribute to director George C. Wolfe, who as previously reported, will receive the Society of Stage Directors and Choreographers' 2011 "Mr. Abbott" Award in recognition of lifetime achievement as a director. The Award will be presented at a gala event at The Edison Ballroom on Monday, October 3 at 7pm.

The tribute is written by John Guare and directed by Jack O'Brien, with musical direction by Jeanine Tesori, and choreography by Hope Clarke. It will feature those who have worked with Wolfe over the years.

Wolfe won Tony Awards for his direction of Angels in America: Millennium Approaches and for Bring in 'Da Noise, Bring in 'Da Funk. He has also received Tony nominations for his direction of The Normal Heart (with Joel Grey), Caroline, Or Change, Jelly's Last Jam, and Angels in America: Perestroika as well as his books for The Wild Party and Jelly's Last Jam. In addition to his work on Broadway, Wolfe was producer of the Public Theater.

The "Mr. Abbott" Award is named in honor of renowned director George Abbott and is one of the only awards given to theatre directors and choreographers by their peers. Past honorees have included Hal Prince, Susan Stroman, Lloyd Richards, Kathleen and Rob Marshall, Tommy Tune, and Michael Bennett.

For tickets and more information, click here.

Tagged in this Story