TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Denzel Washington, Marian Seldes, and Tony Kushner to Present New York Drama Critics' Circle Awards logo
Denzel Washington
(© Tristan Fuge)
Denzel Washington, Marian Seldes, and Tony Kushner will be among the presenters at The New York Drama Critics' Circle Awards, which will be given out at a private cocktail reception to be held on Monday, May 10 at the Algonquin Hotel.

The winners of the organization's 75th annual awards were announced on Friday, April 30. The Orphans' Home Cycle, written by Horton Foote, won the award for Best Play of the 2009-2010 season. No awards were given for Best Musical or Best Foreign Play.

Special awards were given to Lincoln Center Festival for visionary international programming and Viola Davis for sustained achievement. In addition, an Emerging Artist Special Citation was awarded to Annie Baker for Circle Mirror Transformation and The Aliens.

The organization comprises 22 drama critics from daily newspapers, magazines, wire services, and websites based in the New York metropolitan area. It is headed by Time Out New York critic Adam Feldman and includes TheaterMania contributor David Finkle along with journalists Hilton Als, Melissa Rose Bernardo, Joe Dziemianowicz, Michael Feingold, Robert Feldberg, Elysa Gardner, Eric Grode, Michael Kuchwara, David Rooney, Frank Scheck, David Sheward, John Simon, Alexis Soloski, Terry Teachout, Elisabeth Vincentelli, Linda Winer, and Richard Zoglin. Howard Kissel and Michael Sommers serve as emeritus members.

For more information, visit

Tagged in this Story