TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Deborah Cox, Constantine Maroulis to Host National High School Musical Theater Awards

Deborah Cox
(© David Gordon)
Grammy Award nominee Deborah Cox and Tony Award nominee Constantine Maroulis, who as previously reported are set to star in the new Broadway production of Jekyll & Hyde next season, will host the fourth annual National High School Musical Theater Awards, to be presented at Broadway's Minskoff Theatre on Monday, June 25 at 7:30pm.

The event is a celebration of outstanding student achievement in vocal, dance and acting. The show will feature 60 of America's most talented young musical theater performers vying for the "Jimmy Award" for Best Performance by an Actress and Best Performance by an Actor. Winners will be awarded college scholarships and other prizes will be announced live. The awards will also be the subject of the upcoming PBS documentary, BROADWAY OR BUST, premiering in September.

The winners will be chosen by a panel of industry experts including Scott Ellis (Roundabout Theatre Company); Kent Gash (New Studio on Broadway, NYU Tisch School of the Arts Department of Drama); Tony Award-nominee Montego Glover (Memphis); Rachel Hoffman (Telsey + Company); Alecia Parker (NAMCO); Nick Scandalios (Nederlander Organization) and Bernie Telsey (Telsey + Company and MCC Theater).

For more information, including the complete list of participating regional theaters, visit