TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Danai Gurira, Samuel D. Hunter Among Whiting Award Winners logo

Danai Gurira
Four playwrights have been named recipients of the 2012 Whiting Writers' Awards, which are given for "the abundant promise of future work."

Each of the chosen writers receives a cash award of $50,000. A total of ten writers were given awards.

The winning playwrights include Danai Gurira, whose work includes Eclipsed and The Convert; Samuel D. Hunter, author of A Bright New Boise and The Whale (now in previews at Playwrights Horizons); Mona Mansour, whose plays included Urge for Going; and Meg Miroshnik, whose work includes The Tall Girls.