TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

CBS Will Telecast 2005 Tony Awards on June 5; New Nominators Announced logo
The American Theatre Wing's 59th Annual Tony Awards ceremony will be telecast by CBS in a live, three-hour program from Radio City Music Hall on Sunday, June 5, 2005 from 8pm to 11pm (ET/PT). Just announced are the names of 10 new Tony nominators appointed to serve three year terms. They are:
Victoria Bailey, executive director, TDF
Susan Birkenhead, lyricist
Edward Burbridge, scenic designer
Ben Cameron, executive director, TCG
Mercedes Ellington, choreographer
David Henry Hwang, playwright
Jon Nakagawa, producer of Contemporary Programming at Lincoln Center
Peter Neufeld, producer, BC/EFA
Marc Shaiman, composer
Jac Venza, executive producer, WNET/Channel 13

In the words of Jed Bernstein, president of the League of American Theatres and Producers, "CBS and the Tonys have a long and proud history. We are proud to be starting the next chapter together." Howard Sherman, executive director of the American Theatre Wing, added, "We're gratified that what began six decades ago as a private party in hotel ballroom has become the night that the theatrical community celebrates excellence on Broadway and, thanks to CBS, broadcasts it to America." Jack Sussman of CBS said, "We are proud to continue our long-standing relationship with Tony Award Productions, the League and the Wing, and to bring the magic of live theater to viewers across the country through this most unique television event."

For more information about the Tony Awards, click here

Tagged in this Story